Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Rutherford and Reed to join Nelson County Board of Supervisors

Rutherford and Reed to join Nelson County Board of Supervisors

Nelson election

Jesse Rutherford, Ernie Reed

Nelson County residents will see two new faces during Nelson County Board of Supervisors meetings as they replace two members who have served on the board for at least a decade each.

Democrat Ernie Reed won the Central District seat, picking up 949 votes over Independent Shelby Bruguiere’s 651 votes. Independent write-in candidate Chris Martin also ran for the Central District seat.

Reed replaces Connie Brennan, who held the seat for 16 years and will step down at the end of her four-year term in December.

“I’m very happy to have won. I had a wonderful time during the campaign. I’m looking forward to being on the board,” Reed said. “… I expect it’ll be a really exciting couple of years. I couldn’t have won this without the help of many people and their support.”

Republican Jesse Rutherford won the East District seat, receiving 572 votes to Democratic incumbent Allen Hale’s 488. Hale has served on the board since 2006.

“Allen has done an amazing job over the years and with the new blood coming in, I think it’s a pleasure, and I hope to have many different conversations with people in the county, the Commonwealth and everyone at large,” Rutherford said.

Independent incumbent Tommy Harvey will continue as the North District supervisor after receiving 728 votes against Republican Ray Miles’ 195 votes and Democrat Justin Shimp’s 421 votes. Harvey has served on the Board of Supervisors since 1984.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert